The SOPA Editorial Committee consists of prominent journalists or academics in relevant disciplines working in the Asia-Pacific region and is responsible for the organization and administration of the annual SOPA Awards for Editorial Excellence, and for the non-commercial aspects of the associated awards ceremony. The Committee seeks to protect the integrity of the awards and the ceremony, and to extend their scope and influence.

Eligibility Criteria

The SOPA Editorial Committee is open for nominations. Committee membership comprises three-year terms, from July 1 to June 30 of the second following year. The eligibility criteria are as follows:

  • Have held a senior journalistic position for 10 years, and be currently resident in Asia-Pacific.
  • Must participate in the committee's regular monthly meetings, either remotely or in person; in-person meetings are typically held in Hong Kong. Volunteer services such as writing statements on behalf of SOPA, in discussion with the Board and assisting with the annual Gala production (speaker suggestions, interviews, presentations etc) and other events.

Procedure for Nomination

  • Candidates may be self-nominated or nominated by another journalist to serve on the Editorial Committee. Only one nomination from the same journalist is accepted in a single year.
  • To make a nomination, please submit a cover letter and CV to SOPA Secretariat ( by June 30th.